A Moroccan Slow Cooker Miracle!

Oh my word… My first slow cooker meal that tastes AMAZING! I actually borrowed the base recipe for this Moroccan chicken stew from http://shhhquietmummy.wordpress.com/ (go on, go check her out!) but due to various reasons changed things up a bit and added a few extras. I think the addition that has made the biggest difference in taste (not that I tasted the original, I’m just going by taste intuitions) is the harissa powder. I know that this isn’t widely available, but my brother went to Tunisia earlier this year and bought back a present for my mum of this huge bundle of different packages of spices – one of which was the harissa! I’ve been dying to use these spices ever since they entered the house, and have finally got around to it! So here it is:

This really is a slow cooker miracle – full of flavour and a perfect winter warmer with a bit of spice.

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, chopped into medium sized chunks
  • 1 shallot, cut into similar sized pieces
  • 4 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 2 carrots chopped into big chunks
  • 1 large sweet potato, chopped into similar sized chunks to the carrots
  • 1 yellow (or other colour – your choice!) bell pepper, similar sizes to other veg
  • 350g chicken breast, cubed
  • 1 tin of chopped tomatoes
  • 1tbsp harissa powder (or paste, if you can’t find this)
  • 1tbsp ground cumin
  • 3tsp ground ginger
  • 1tbsp coriander (I used frozen)
  • 1 chicken stock pot
  • 1/4 pint of boiling water
  • Frylight

Method:

  1. Prepare all the ingredients, spray the slow cooker pot a few times with frylight and chuck everything in.
  2. Give it a big stir and cover.
  3. Leave for 4 hours on high, or 6 on medium, or 8 on low, stirring once or twice (optional, I’m sure it’d be fine without stirring).
  4. Serve with couscous or rice!

Let me know how you find it – I hope you find it as delicious as I do 🙂 Syn free on EE for Slimming World-ers.

Laura x

8 thoughts on “A Moroccan Slow Cooker Miracle!

  1. Pingback: DOING SW FROM HOME??? - Page 278

  2. Pingback: +*+* POST your food pics for meal ideas +*+*+* - Page 363

  3. Pingback: SLOW COOKER RECIPES - Page 20

  4. I never heard of harissa! I have a great number of spices,I go to an Indian store once or twice a year out-of-town,maybe I can get it there.You have me intrigued!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    • No problem! If you can’t find it there then try a supermarket – most do harissa paste which is basically the spices mixed with olive oil – I’ve never tried it, but I’d imagine its a lot easier to get hold of and probably tastes just as good!

Leave a comment